Christmas Home Tour 2015

One of my favorite Christmas traditions is spending time alone at home making wreaths, hanging ornaments and decorating every corner of our home while I watch corny Hallmark movies and listen to Christmas music. I love the stillness of the empty house and the time alone with my thoughts as I reflect on the year and put my hands to work crafting and being creative.

I was reflecting today on all of the Christmas-y things that I so love to do and enjoy. The lights, the shopping, the events, the parties. Yesterday, after a day of celebratory events, I ended the evening thinking about how I didn’t feel as much of the “Christmas magic” as I should have.

The reason is that no matter how many beautiful decorations I hang, cups of hot chocolate I drink, or movies I watch, I will still be left with an emptiness if not for one thing.

Jesus.

I have kept such a busy schedule that I have cut down time with the One person we are celebrating. Today I sat down and just spent some time with my Savior, and that “magic” I was looking for came not from lights and scheduled activities but from the richness of His word and time with Him.

He truly is the reason for the season, and he shines much brighter than the lights on my tree.

But I love that I get to decorate in celebration of that 🙂 That said, welcome to my Christmas home. (You can also check out my 2013 Tour and 2014 Tour).

We got a new Christmas tree this year from Home Depot. The little pencil tree is exactly what we need in our living room.
 photo IMG_0087_zpstx70jyii.jpg
 photo IMG_0130_zps4a3bkc48.jpg
 photo IMG_0071_zpss3jwu6hg.jpg
 photo IMG_0131_zpsdcqf2vsb.jpg

I used a lot of accents of black and white this year.
 photo IMG_0137_zpsbdnwpn7q.jpg
Come on into the eat-in kitchen. Our newly renovated white kitchen is such a great backdrop for the traditional red and green.
 photo IMG_0112_zpshavdgpor.jpg
 photo IMG_0113_zpspwgayqmu.jpg
 photo IMG_0117_zps6rkhl3yl.jpg
 photo IMG_0121_zpssmyu6hhs.jpg
 photo IMG_0107_zpsvdlinjsg.jpg

Now come on into the reading room where I’ve decorated my antique mantel with metallics and greenery.

 photo IMG_9965_zpsbzjxgjaj.jpg
 photo IMG_9961_zpsei0osmr1.jpg
 photo IMG_9938_zpsjmtbbus5.jpg
 photo IMG_9951_zps8sv61yr7.jpg

Now I wanna take you to the basement (which underwent some major renovation in the last year), but I want you to come in through the carport door, so let’s walk around back of the house.

 photo IMG_9988_zpsvtvxosnp.jpg
I filled this vintage box (an early Christmas box from my mom) with some twinkle lights, free greenery, and sticks from the yard.
 photo IMG_9994_zpsxwy6hyyq.jpg
Come on in. This mudroom is new this year too!
 photo IMG_0003_zpswyf1u80h.jpg

I made the little wreaths from boxwood clippings and free greenery from the tree lot on a simple wire hanger base.
 photo IMG_0064_zpsp7gxidjz.jpg
 photo IMG_9999_zpstiv2kdxv.jpg
I found those cute vintage cards at a local boutique. They were selling the whole set for a dollar!
 photo IMG_0018_zpsdf2r6pyi.jpg
We have been spending a lot of time in this basement space lately. It’s fun to have such a cozy spot!
 photo IMG_9996_zpshpktihkn.jpg
This is the blog debut for our new organ that Jeremy got for FREE.
 photo IMG_0011_zpswqtywody.jpg
 photo IMG_0022_zpsdmwukuvg.jpg
 photo IMG_0027_zpsmmmmasfs.jpg
 photo IMG_0060_zpswsralauz.jpg
No house tour is complete without my shadow, Jack the Cat.
 photo IMG_0057_zpscowo9mtn.jpg
 photo IMG_0039_zpsjvygwham.jpg

Thank you so much for stopping by!

 

This entry was posted in House Tour. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Home Tour 2015

  1. Shannon Leyerle says:

    It’s just beautiful, Chandler! Love it all – the black and white, the metallics, and all the greenery. Especially love the vintage Christmas cards – I think that’s what they are – hung on the red and white striped ribbon in the basement. Merry Christmas!

  2. Looks beautiful, Chandler! Love those vintage cards on the baker’s twine so much!

  3. April Holliday says:

    Your blog posts are more beautiful than ever. And I don’t just mean the pictures; the words themselves are so uplifting. Your posts might be few and far between but they are well worth the wait! I gobble them up. 🙂 xo

  4. Pingback: 2015 Home in Review | allpreciousandpleasant

Leave a Reply

