FREE DIY Coffee Table Tray

The box that I have kept on our coffee table until now recently broke. The nails came out and it just started falling apart, so it was time for a new coffee table set up. I already had a pretty silver bowl with pearl inlay that we got as a wedding gift, but it seemed like it needed something underneath…like a tray. But, I have such a long list of things to buy for our house right now that I didn’t want to spend money on a tray, so I found a long rectangular photo frame that I hadn’t hung since we moved  here, some leftover fabric from my recent bench reupholstery, and some white paint that I keep on hand for times such as this. So for $0.00, I got a really pretty tray that adds some fun life to the coffee table.
FREE DIY Coffee Table Tray

This tutorial is so simple it almost isn’t necessary, but perhaps you will be inspired to try this project at home with a thrifted or un-used frame. This would be adorable on a night stand, a dresser, a kitchen counter, or anywhere where you want a little more pizzazz on a small display.

I started with this photo frame. I simply removed the glass and existing photos and painted the frame white. I actually spray painted it first, but I didn’t like the texture, so I went over the spray paint with a brush and some white paint.
FREE DIY Coffee Table Tray

Then I ironed the fabric and taped it around the existing mat in the frame. You could also use a piece of cardboard if your frame doesn’t come with a mat.
FREE DIY Coffee Table Tray

And that is all there is to it. But, what a transformation, right? I styled it with some simple baby’s breath in a mason jar, my flea market iron horse Charlie (get it, Charlie Horse?), and this silver bowl filled with decorative balls. (Maybe I should use the word globes? I still feel awkward about decorative balls…like I’m in middle school). I picked up a whole box of those pretty moss and neutral globes for $4 at a yard sale last weekend. That isn’t even half of them!

FREE DIY Coffee Table Tray

Sometimes making simple updates will encourage you that you are making progress in your home and inspire you to tackle the big stuff. Some bigger stuff in our bedroom is in progresss…so stay tuned!
FREE DIY Coffee Table Tray

Signature

This entry was posted in craft projects, Living Room, Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

