Master Bedroom Plans TAKE 2

For months, I have been completely uninspired by our master bedroom. I have stared in forlorn dismay at the blank walls and undressed windows with very little vision. With almost every other room, I have had an immediate vision for what I want it to look like. I feel inspired and ready to go. With our bedroom, I got nothing.

Until now.

I’m sure plans and ideas will change as I start the process, but I am all of a sudden emboldened with a clear picture of what I want the space to look like. And it is quite a bit different from my original mood board. To refresh your memory: Here is what my first mood board looked like. I had some ideas, but when I looked at the room I wasn’t super excited about how this would actually turn out.
 photo MasterBedroomNumbered_zps83906ae4.jpg
And here is what it looks like today. It’s easy to sleep in here because it’s so boring.

bedside tables

And here is my new vision:
Master Bedroom Mood Board

Sources:
Wall Color – Stonington Gray by Benjamin Moore (mixed in HGTV paint by Sherwin Williams
BeddingAnthropologie (I already own this) – Navy no longer available
Stripe Fabric – I will be recovering a bench for the end of our bed in a fabric similar to this.
Bird Watercolor Painting Original Only on Etsy. I love the colors in this and the peacefulness of birds. This etsy shop has so many pretty bird watercolor original works! I definitely want to order one. It is a goal of mine to start collecting more unique and original art for our home.
Ampersand Typography Art – Paperchat on Etsy. I love typographical pieces, and there is something charming about an ampersand in a master bedroom because when I married my hubs, we added a forever “&” between our names.
Agate BookendsWest Elm. I want to incorporate lots of textures and materials into the bookshelves I want to install on our free wall, and I fell in love with the colors and natural element of these book ends.
Organic Sparrow Song Euro Shams – West Elm. I purchased these several months ago. I wanted something different than I normally choose, and I thought our room deserved a touch of whimsy
Gold Quatrefoil Pillow – I found this on Pinterest (but lost the link), but I purchased a similar one at Home Goods.
Dresser – We already own one similar to this!
Night stands – I found these at a thrift store and re-did them.
Lamps – We purchased two oil rubbed bronze lamps similar to these at Home Goods (my favorite place!)
Curtains/bamboo shades – I really want to replace our mini blinds with bamboo shades, and I already purchased two sets of ivory curtains from Home Goods!

A few other notes and your opinion…

I also want to install three floating shelves on that large wall to the left of the bed and fill them with knick knacks and doo dads and art and stuff. I can’t find a picture of exactly what I want, but here is a good example…
West Elm Shelves

Also, I want to find a new light fixture for the ceiling, but I am really clueless about what I want. A ceiling fan for functionality? A pendant light? A chandelier? Any ideas?

Also, I am thinking about painting the ceiling. Should I:
1. Paint the walls a darker gray and move light gray to the ceiling?
2. Leave the walls as is, but paint the ceiling a darker gray?
3. Paint the ceiling a shade of blue (Jeremy’s suggestion; he is tired of gray).

Please help me.

One final image of inspiration. I am loving this room from Kerrisdale Designs. Maybe I can just channel some of that vibe.
 photo Master-Bedroom_zps798ecd43.jpg

Xoxo.

Signature

This entry was posted in Mood Boards. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Master Bedroom Plans TAKE 2

  1. Pingback: Bench Reupholstery Before & After | allpreciousandpleasant

Leave a Reply

