A Little Bit of Fall: Inexpensive Decorating With Painted Glass Bottles

 photo fallbottles7_zps9f3bc874.jpg
I’ve got Fall on the brain. You with me? I just love this time of year. The Lord is so faithful even through seasons of change, and the crisp autumn weather, transforming watercolor trees, and farmer’s harvest reminds me of that truth.

I digress.

I have been itching to decorate my house for this glorious season, but I am saving my money for so many projects that I want to make little changes with just a little money. My first fall decorative project cost me $3.00. I can work with that.
 photo fallbottles5_zps389899f0.jpg
Here’s what you need:
– Empty glass bottles (wine bottles, old soda bottles, salad dressing bottles, etc. Just whatever you have laying around the house)
– Gold acrylic paint (which I already had)
– Twine (also already had)
– Hot glue gun
– Wheat cattails or some other fall floral (I got these in the Kroger floral dept. for $2.99)

1. Use painters tape to mark where you want the painted stripes and paint inside the lines. It’s not going to look perfect, but that is part of the charm.
 photo fallbottles6_zps5445e102.jpg
2. Remove the tape and place in a cold oven. Heat to 325 degrees with the glass bottles inside. Then bake for around 20 minutes once it heats up, turn the oven off, and let it cool down. Baking the paint will make it more durable and long lasting.
 photo fallbottles3_zps1eff8977.jpg
3. Use a spot of hot glue to start the twine in place, wrap to your hearts content, and then finish it off with another hot glue dot.
 photo fallbottles4_zps6a05cc24.jpg
4. Use your florals to fill the bottles and complete the look of fall.
 photo fallbottles1_zps8a825c92.jpg
5. Enjoy them on your mantel.
 photo fallbottles2_zps246c7aac.jpg

Happy Fall, Y’all!

Signature

 

This entry was posted in craft projects, Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Little Bit of Fall: Inexpensive Decorating With Painted Glass Bottles

  1. Pingback: Using What You Have: A Simple Thanksgiving Tablescape | allpreciousandpleasant

Leave a Reply

