Pinterest Fail: The Oven Baking Soda Fiasco of 2013

I love Pinterest. You love Pinterest. We all love Pinterest. It’s a great symposium of ideas. But not all pins are created equal. And not all of them work for me.

This blog is about real life, and in real life, things don’t always work.

We inherited some great appliances with our new house. We didn’t have to replace any of them, and I am so thankful. They all work well, and we have cooked many a delicious meal already. See? The kitchen is so spacious and lovely.
 photo 4-Kitchen4_zps002558e0.jpg
But, the previous owners didn’t clean out the oven before they left, and we moved in with a pretty nasty, grimy oven. These pictures emphasize the icky-ness.
 photo null_zps10962f3b.jpg
 photo null_zpsd3a8e004.jpg
I read on Pinterest that you could safely clean your oven using baking soda and water.

I mixed together a paste of baking soda and water and rubbed it all over the oven after I removed the racks. It was weird and gross and made my hands turn black. But I had faith that the end result would be worth it.

I read a suggestion that you should leave it anywhere from an hour to overnight. I decided to leave it for a full 24 hours because the grime was really heavy. I forgot to take a picture of this step! Bad blogger.

The next day I proceeded to wipe out the oven, and it pretty much looked exactly the same as before…except some of the baking soda got stuck behind the glass. Here is a great before and after of my progress.
 photo ovenbeforeaftercopy_zpsd77727af.jpg
Awesome.

It also left behind this white residue that is still there several weeks later.
 photo null_zps1ed6734d.jpg
 photo null_zps065da63e.jpg
What did I do wrong?!! Tonight I am going to use the self cleaning feature on the oven. Wish me luck.

Signature

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pinterest Fail: The Oven Baking Soda Fiasco of 2013

  1. Leslie says:

    Vinegar is your key to success! Scatter Baking Soda in the oven and then put Vinegar in a spray bottle and spray it on top of the baking soda. The combo is fairly destructive so be sure to wear gloves, but it cuts into grease and nastiness! I use vinegar+baking soda for SO many things.

  2. Mike Tanner says:

    I have used professional services before but I can honestly say that I agree with Leslie, bicarb/baking soda and water route with vinegar – it’s brilliant and what’s better than a non-toxic approach? In the past I used oven cleaning solihull and oven cleaner sutton coldfield businesses, but if you’d prefer doing it yourself, consider the vinegar. I’ve heard that the self-cleaning ovens are pretty nasty smelling!

Leave a Reply

